P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us


Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science


 Anil Shrestha, Ph.D

Dept. Head Enology & Viticulture

California State University, Fresno

Vice President

William Patzoldt

Senior Agronomist

Blue River Technology


C. Scott Stoddard

UCCE, Merced County

Past President

Philip Munger, Ph.D

Bravin Kataela Agricultural Research

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC


 Business and Office Managers


Jill Damskey & Celeste Elliott  

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-0883


Director – Steering

James Hruskoci, Ph.D

Senior Technical Service Scientist

Bayer Cropscience

Director – Non-conference Education

Whitney Brim-DeForest, Ph.D

UCCE, Sutter & Yuba Counties

Director – Sponsorship & Exhibitors

Eli Kersh



Director – Student Liaison

Tom Getts

Weed Ecology and Cropping Systems Advisor

UCCE Lassen County

Director – Public Relations

Kate Walker

Technical Service Representative




CWSS Board of Directors 2019-2020
Front row: Eli Kersh, Lynn Sosnoskie, Whitney Brim-DeForest; Back row: Tom Getts, Joe Vassios, Phil Munger, Dave Blodget, Gil del Rosario; Missing: Brad Hanson, Anil Shesthra