P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us

 

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science

President

Philip Munger, Ph.D

Bravin Kataela Agricultural Research

Phone: (559) 909-8847

Bravink4ag@outlook.com

Vice President

Anil Shrestha, Ph.D

Professor of Weed Science

California State University, Fresno

Phone: (559) 278-7179

ashrestha@csufresno.edu

Secretary

William Patzoldt

Senior Agronomist

Phone: (408) 706-6038

william.patzoldt@bluerivertech.com

Past President

Brad Hanson, Ph.D

Cooperative Extension Weed Specialist

University of California, Davis

Phone: (530) 752-8115

bhanson@ucdavis.edu

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC

Phone: (661) 599-3231

dave.blodget@alligare.com

 

 

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)

Jill Damskey & Celeste Elliott  

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-0883

Fax: (831) 442-2351

Jill Damskey Phone (916) 441-1931

jill@agamsi.com (Jill)

manager@cwss.org (Celeste)

Director – Steering

James Hruskoci, Ph.D

Senior Technical Service Scientist

Bayer Cropscience

Phone (308) 379-1776

jim.hruskoci@bayer.com

Director – Non-conference Education

Maggie Reiter

UCCE, Fresno County

Phone: (563) 663-2852

mkreiter@ucanr.edu

Director – Sponsorship & Exhibitors

Eli Kersh

Field Operations Manager

Alligare, LLC

Phone: (415) 307-0943

eli.kersh@alligare.com

Director – Student Liaison

Tom Getts

Weed Ecology and Cropping Systems Advisor

UCCE Lassen County

Phone: (530) 251-2650

tjgetts@ucanr.edu

Director – Public Relations

Kate Walker

Technical Service Representative

BASF

Phone: (919) 358-6123

katherine.walker@basf.com

CWSS Board of Directors 2019-2020
Front row: Eli Kersh, Lynn Sosnoskie, Whitney Brim-DeForest; Back row: Tom Getts, Joe Vassios, Phil Munger, Dave Blodget, Gil del Rosario; Missing: Brad Hanson, Anil Shesthra