P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science

President

Maryam Khosravifard

Sr. Environmental Scientist (Supervisor)

State Water Resource Control Boards

Phone: (916) 390-2823

khosravifard.maryam@yahoo.com

 

Vice President

Joe Vassios

Account Manager, Aquatics

United Phosphorous, Inc.

Phone: (719) 740-9291

joseph.vassios@uniphos.com

 

Secretary

Travis Bean

Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist

Department of Botany and Plant Sciences

University of California, Riverside

Phone: (951) 827-5130

trbean@ucr.edu

 

Past President

Katherine Walker

Technical Service

BASF Corporation

Phone: (919) 358-6123

katherine.walker@basf.com

 

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC

Phone: (661) 599-3231

dave.blodget@alligare.com

 

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)

Celeste Elliott & Macaria Mendoza 

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-3536

Fax: (831) 442-2351

manager@cwss.org (Celeste)

macaria@papaseminars.com (Macaria)

Director – Steering

Ben Duesterhaus
Technical Services Agronomist
Mid Valley Ag Services
Phone (209) 351-7089
bduesterhaus@midvalleyag.com

 

Director – Non-conference Education

Whitney Brim-DeForest, PhD
UCCE Rice Advisor
Sutter, Yuba, Placer & Sacramento Counties
Phone: (541) 822-7515
wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

 

Director – Membership

Josie Hugie
Crop Research Manager
Wilbur Ellis
Phone: (916) 216-8744
josie.hugie@wilburellis.com

 

Director – Student Liaison

Scott Oneto
Farm Advisor/County Director
UC Coop Ext/ Central Sierra
Phone: (209) 223-6834
sroneto@ucanr.edu

 

Director – Public Relations

Gil Del Rosario
MLA, PCA; Sales Representative
Dow AgroSciences LLC
Phone: (949) 878-7371
gmdelrosario@dow.com

CWSS Board of Directors