P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us

 

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science

President

Brad Hanson

Cooperative Extension Weed Specialist

University of California, Davis

Phone: (530) 752-8115

bhanson@ucdavis.edu

Vice President

Phillip Munger

President

Bravin Kataela Agricultural Research

Phone: (559) 909-8847

bravink4ag@outlook.com

Secretary

Anil Shrestha, Ph.D

CSU Fresno Professor – Weed Science

Phone: (559) 278-7179

ashrestha@csufresno.edu

Past President

Joseph Vassios

Account Manager, Aquatics

United Phosphorous, Inc.

Phone: (719) 740-9291

joseph.vassios@uniphos.com

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC

Phone: (661) 599-3231

dave.blodget@alligare.com

 

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)

Jill Damskey & Celeste Elliott  

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-0883

Fax: (831) 442-2351

Jill Damskey Phone (916) 441-1931

jill@agamsi.com (Jill)

manager@cwss.org (Celeste)

Director – Steering

Lynn Sosnoskie, Ph.D

Agronomy and Weed Science Advisor

UCCE Merced and Madera Counties

Phone (229) 326-2676

lmsosnoskie@ucanr.edu

Director – Non-conference Education

Whitney Brim-DeForest, PhD

UCCE Rice Advisor

Sutter, Yuba, Placer & Sacramento Counties

Phone: (541) 822-7515

wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

Director – Sponsorship & Exhibitors

Eli Kersh

Field Operations Manager

Alligare, LLC

Phone: (415) 307-0943

eli.kersh@alligare.com

Director – Student Liaison

Tom Getts

Weed Ecology and Cropping Systems Advisor

UCCE Lassen County

Phone: (530) 251-2650

tjgetts@ucanr.edu

Director – Public Relations

Gil del Rosario

MLA, PCA; T & O Market Development Specialist

Corteva agrisciences

Phone: (949) 878-7371

Gilbert.del-rosario@corteva.com

CWSS Board of Directors 2019-2020
Front row: Eli Kersh, Lynn Sosnoskie, Whitney Brim-DeForest; Back row: Tom Getts, Joe Vassios, Phil Munger, Dave Blodget, Gil del Rosario; Missing: Brad Hanson, Anil Shesthra