P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science

President

Maryam Khosravifard

Environmental Program Manager

California Department of Food and Agriculture

Phone: (916) 390-2823

maryam.khosravifard@cdfa.ca.gov

Vice President

Joe Vassios

Account Manager, Aquatics

United Phosphorous, Inc.

Phone: (719) 740-9291

joseph.vassios@uniphos.com

Secretary

Travis Bean

Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist

Department of Botany and Plant Sciences

University of California, Riverside

Phone: (951) 827-5130

trbean@ucr.edu

Past President

Katherine Walker

Technical Service

BASF Corporation

Phone: (919) 358-6123

katherine.walker@basf.com

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC

Phone: (661) 599-3231

dave.blodget@alligare.com

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)

Jill Damskey & Celeste Elliott  

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-0883 

Jill Damskey Phone (916) 441-1931 

Fax: (831) 442-2351

manager@cwss.org (Celeste)

jill@agamsi.com (Jill)

Director – Steering

Ben Duesterhaus

Technical Services Agronomist

Mid Valley Ag Services

Phone (209) 351-7089

bduesterhaus@midvalleyag.com

 

Director – Non-conference Education

Whitney Brim-DeForest, PhD

UCCE Rice Advisor

Sutter, Yuba, Placer & Sacramento Counties

Phone: (541) 822-7515

wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

 

Director – Sponsorship & Exhibitors

Eli Kersh

CLM

Elimnology

Phone: (510) 560-5651

ekersh@elimnology.com

 

Director – Student Liaison

Scott Oneto

Farm Advisor/County Director

UC Coop Ext/ Central Sierra

Phone: (209) 223-6834

sroneto@ucanr.edu

 

Director – Public Relations

Gil Del Rosario

MLA, PCA; Sales Representative

Dow AgroSciences LLC

Phone: (949) 878-7371

gmdelrosario@dow.com

CWSS Board of Directors