P.O. Box 1961, West Sacramento, CA 95691     (831) 442-0883     (831) 442-2351

About Us

 

Founded in 1948, the California Weed Science Society (CWSS):

  • Provides professional education and information exchange on weed science
  • Provides a forum on public issues in weed science
  • Encourages research in weed science
  • Supports college students seeking a career in weed science
  • Facilitates teamwork with individuals, agencies, and organizations in weed science

President

Joe Vassios

Account Manager, Aquatics

United Phosphorous, Inc.

Phone: (719) 740-9291

joseph.vassios@uniphos.com

Vice President

Travis Bean

Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist

Department of Botany and Plant Sciences

University of California, Riverside

Phone: (951) 827-5130

trbean@ucr.edu

Secretary

Phillip Munger

President

Bravin Kataela Agricultural Research

Phone: (559) 909-8847

bravink4ag@outlook.com

Past President

Maryam Khosravifard

Environmental Program Manager

CDFA

Phone: (916) 390-2823

maryam.khosravifard@cdfa.ca.org

Director – Finance

Dave Blodget

Aquatic Market Manager

Alligare LLC

Phone: (661) 599-3231

dave.blodget@alligare.com

 

Business and Office Managers (non-voting)

Jill Damskey & Celeste Elliott  

CWSS Business Office

P.O. Box 1961

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (831) 442-0883

Fax: (831) 442-2351

Jill Damskey Phone (916) 441-1931

jill@agamsi.com (Jill)

manager@cwss.org (Celeste)

Director – Steering

Ben Duesterhaus

Technical Services Agronomist

Mid Valley Ag Services

Phone (209) 351-7089

bduesterhaus@midvalleyag.com

Director – Non-conference Education

Whitney Brim-DeForest, PhD

UCCE Rice Advisor

Sutter, Yuba, Placer & Sacramento Counties

Phone: (541) 822-7515

wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu

Director – Sponsorship & Exhibitors

Eli Kersh

Field Operations Manager

Alligare, LLC

Phone: (415) 307-0943

eli.kersh@alligare.com

Director – Student Liaison

Mariano Galla

Farm Advisor

UCCE Glenn, Butte, and Tehama Counties

Phone: (530) 865-1107

mfgalla@ucanr.edu

Director – Public Relations

Gil del Rosario

MLA, PCA; T & O Market Development Specialist

Dow AgroSciences LLC

Phone: (949) 878-7371

gmdelrosario@dow.com

CWSS Board of Directors 2017